Berahino, Chambers and Shaw in England Under-21 play-off squad

West Bromwich Albion attacker Saido Berahino has missed out once again on a senior England call-up, as Under-21 boss Gareth Southgate has named him in the squad to face Croatia in the UEFA Under-21 European Championship play-offs.

Former Southampton teammates Calum Chambers and Luke Shaw, now at Arsenal and Manchester United respectively, who both have full international caps, are also on the 23-man roster. Stoke City stopper Jack Butland and West Ham United loanee Carl Jenkinson are the only other names with senior appearances in Southgate’s squad.

Pundits had widely tipped Burundi-born Berahino for a maiden call from Roy Hodgson, after netting four times in six Premier League appearances for the Baggies this season. “When someone like Saido’s in the form he’s in, he’s going to get talked about for a senior squad call-up,” said Southgate.

“But these matches are really invaluable for his development and the team. I’m sure he will be keen to play with us and progress and he will be able to push his way into Roy’s thinking.”

Tottenham summer signing Eric Dier and Leicester City’s Luke Moore are also among the defensive options, while there are spots for Hull City wideman Tom Ince and Spurs striker Harry Kane in attack. Much will be expected of Tom Carroll (Swansea City) and Will Hughes (Derby County) in midfield.

Southgate is without injured trio Nathaniel Chalobah, Danny Ings and James Ward-Prowse. The Young Lions hosts Croatia are Molineux on October 10th, with the away leg to follow four days later.

England Under-21 squad to face Croatia:
Goalkeepers: Jonathan Bond (Watford), Jack Butland (Stoke City), Sam Johnstone (Manchester United)

Defenders: Calum Chambers (Arsenal), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Luke Garbutt (Everton), Ben Gibson (Middlesbrough), Carl Jenkinson (West Ham United, on loan from Arsenal), Michael Keane (Burnley, on loan from Manchester United), Jamaal Lascelles (Nottingham Forest, on loan from Newcastle United), Liam Moore (Leicester City), Luke Shaw (Manchester United)

Midfielders: Lewis Baker (Chelsea), Tom Carroll (Swansea City, on loan from Tottenham Hotspur), Jake Forster-Caskey (Brighton & Hove Albion), Will Hughes (Derby County), Thomas Ince (Hull City), Alex Pritchard (Brentford, on loan from Tottenham Hotspur), Nathan Redmond (Norwich City)

Forwards: Patrick Bamford (Middlesbrough, on loan from Chelsea), Saido Berahino (West Bromwich Albion), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Cauley Woodrow (Fulham)