Cipriani and Easter named in England Six Nations squad

Danny Cipriani and Nick Easter have been recalled to the England squad for the upcoming Six Nations. The latter hasn’t featured since 2011, while the former wins his first call-up since 2008.

Stuart Lancaster’s side kick off their campaign against Wales and are evens for victory with Coral, in what is expected to be a full capacity Millennium Stadium.

Alex Corbisero, Dan Cole, Geoff Parling, Tom Youngs and Mako Vunipola have also been included in the 34-man training squad, however there is no room for Sam Burgess who switched to rugby union following the end of the rugby league season in November.

Although his progress has been encouraging, he does make the Saxons squad and is expected to be included in England’s World Cup selection if he continues his improvement.

There is considerable competition for Cipriani at fly half, with Owen Farrell, George Ford and Stephen Myler all vying for a place, with Bath’s Ford particularly impressing last time out.

Northampton lock Courtney Lawes and Leicester centre Manu Tuilagi are expected to miss the Wales game due to injury, though could recover in time to play some part in the tournament, with England 13/8 favourites to win it.


Props: Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers), Alex Corbisiero (Northampton Saints), Joe Marler (Harlequins), Mako Vunipola (Saracens), David Wilson (Bath Rugby); Hookers: Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints), Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers); Locks: Dave Attwood (Bath Rugby), Graham Kitchener (Leicester Tigers), George Kruis (Saracens), Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers); Back-rows: Calum Clark (Northampton Saints), James Haskell (Wasps), Nick Easter (Harlequins), ), James Haskell (Wasps), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, captain), Billy Vunipola (Saracens), Tom Wood (Northampton Saints)


Back three: Mike Brown (Harlequins), Alex Goode (Saracens), Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby), Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby); Centres: Brad Barritt (Saracens), Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints), Kyle Eastmond (Bath Rugby), Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby), Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester Rugby); Fly-halves: Danny Cipriani (Sale Sharks), Owen Farrell (Saracens), George Ford (Bath Rugby), Stephen Myler (Northampton Saints); Scrum-halves: Danny Care (Harlequins), Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers).