Seven great sportsmanship moments after Brownlee brothers’ dramatic World Triathlon finish
Lee Gormley | September 19, 2016
Seven great sportsmanship moments
The Triathlon World Series in Mexico recently came to a truly dramatic finish, with exhausted Briton Jonny Brownlee needing help from his older brother and Olympic champion Alistair to get over the line with just 700m left to go.
In a true act of sportsmanship, Alistair came to his younger sibling’s aid as he was weaving all over the road in the hot and humid conditions, holding him up on his shoulder before pushing him over the line to finish second and himself third.
This is simply brilliant! What a show of sportsmanship from Alistair Brownlee towards his younger brother Jonny.
— BBC Sport (@BBCSport) September 19, 2016
After an incredible moment involving the Yorkshire-born brothers, with Alistair now cut to 12/1 from 200/1 to win 2016 Sports Personality of the Year, Coral look back at seven other great sportsmanship moments…
Anaya refuses to overtake Mutai, 2012
In a running event in 2012, Spaniard Ivan Fernandez Anaya had the chance for a great moment in his career by overtaking Kenya’s Olympic Bronze medallist Abel Mutai, as the latter slowed down towards the finish line thinking he had already prevailed.
Although, instead of bursting ahead to win, Anaya urged his opponent over the line and settled for second place.
Flintoff comforts Lee after England Ashes win, 2005
There’s certainly no love lost between Ashes rivals Australia and England and throughout the years there have been many feisty encounters on these shores and Down Under.
Although, in 2005, after England secured an agonisingly narrow two-run victory to seal the Series success, all-rounder Andrew ‘Freddie’ Flintoff delayed his celebrations with jubilant teammates to console a clearly devastated Brett Lee.
Flintoff later stated that he had much respect for the Aussie fast bowler and admitted he did lost deserve to lose, Despite England winning back the Urn for the first time since 1987.
Roddick corrects call on match point, 2005
In the 2005 Rome Masters, American Andy Roddick produced a great display of sportsmanship, one which ultimately worked against him in an eventual defeat at the hands of third round opponent Fernando Verdasco.
The highly competitive USA star was on match point and witnessed the linesman call out for Verdasco’s second serve, which would have handed him the win. But he was quick to point out the ball was actually in on the clay surface, and eventually went on to lose and exit the competition.
Tyson helps up Etienne, 2003
Mike Tyson is regarded as one of the greatest fighters of all time, with the youngest ever heavyweight world champion having been a devastating and vicious knockout artist at the height of powers in the ring.
Though, in a bout with Clifford Etienne in 2003, the usually imposing and intimidating figure of ‘Iron Mike’ showed compassion for his beaten opponent after stopping him within seconds of the opening bell. Lifting Etienne from the canvas, Tyson embraced his foe with plenty of respect shown.
Di Canio catches ball to halt play, 2000
Sportsmanship is perhaps the last thing that comes to mind when thinking about former Premier League attacker Paolo Di Canio, though he was involved in one of the most famous acts of fairness on the pitch.
The Italian, despite his controversies, passed up a scoring opportunity for West Ham United in order to see if the opposing Everton goalkeeper Paul Gerrard was alright, having collapsed due to a leg injury. Instead of firing into an open net, he caught the ball from a right-sided cross and halted play. A noble act.
Arsenal replay FA Cup tie with Sheffield Utd, 1999
As an FA Cup tie between Sheffield United and Arsenal was level at 1-1 in 1999, the Gunners had tried to give the ball back to their opponents, after goalkeeper Alan Kelly cleared out of play to let his teammate receive treatment for an injury.
On his English debut, Gunners frontman Nwankwo Kanu didn’t realise what had occurred and was played through on goal, subsequently teeing up Marc Overmars to dispatch the winner. Following the incident and 2-1 result, Arsene Wenger called for a rematch out of sportsmanship, which they eventually went on to win again.
Hendry disputes free ball, 1994
In the 1994 World Snooker Championship, the decade’s dominant force Stephen Hendry was on course for another Crucible crown but, after being awarded a free ball by the referee, the Scot asked the official to check again to be sure.
His opponent Jimmy White was on the verge of another defeat, yet Hendry showed great sportsmanship in passing the call that was made and instead opted for the shot to be played by ‘the Whirlwind’.