Alex Ferguson
Home  »    »  Manchester United odds

Manchester United odds

| 28.06.2013

Manchester United have dominated modern football in England and nearly always head the betting for the Premier League at the start of the season.

The team, who play at Old Trafford in Salford, have landed the odds for punters a number of times over the years.

Nicknamed the Red Devils, they have won the top division a remarkable 20 times, which includes 13 Premier League titles since the division was re-branded in 1992.

The club have a great sense of history and were the first English club to win the European Cup in 1968 when they defeated Benfica 4-1 at Wembley.

That victory was an emotional one as it came ten years after the 1958 Munich air disaster.

Eight players tragically lost their lives when the plane carrying the Manchester United team – nicknamed the ‘Busby Babes’ – crashed on the runway in Munich. Twenty-three people in total died in the incident.

Manchester United odds are always short on them winning the Premier League title

As well as that European Cup win in 1968, Man United have landed the odds in Europe’s top club competition on two other occasions.

The 1999 Champions League final in the Nou Camp has gone down in history due to United’s unlikely win.

Sir Alex Ferguson’s side were losing one-nil to Bayern Munich with 90 minutes on the clock but Teddy Sheringham levelled the scores in the 91st minute.

The game looked to be going to extra-time until super-sub Ole Gunnar Solskjaer popped up with the most dramatic of winners in the 93rd minute.

United have since added more European silverware, winning the Champions League again in 2008.

That game was an all-English affair between Man Utd and Chelsea and it was the team from Lancashire who prevailed 6-5 on penalties, with the match level at 1-1 after extra time.

With 11 FA Cups in their cabinet, odds on Man Utd winning the FA Cup are usually short

Manchester United have been managed by some famous names over the years, not least Sir Matt Busby who led the team from 1945 to 1969 and then 1970 to 1971.

However Sir Alex Ferguson surpassed Busby as the club’s longest-serving manager.

The Scot managed United from 1986 to 2013 and is the most successful in their illustrious history.

Under Ferguson, Manchester United’s odds to lift a trophy were always short and the current manager David Moyes has an almost impossible task as he tries to emulate his hero.

United have won the FA Cup 11 times and the League Cup on four occasions, most recently in 2009/10.

Manchester United won the Premier League in 2012/13

Current superstars at the club include Wayne Rooney and Robin Van Persie.

Both players were signed for over £20 million, however neither player is the club’s record signing.

United paid £30.75 million for Dimitar Berbatov in 2008 although the Bulgarian has since joined Fulham.

Rio Ferdinand (£29.3 million) joined from Leeds but has been at the club since 2002 and the long-servinf defender is revered amongst Man Utd fans, although not as much as winger Ryan Giggs.

The Welshman has been at the club for since 1991 and the 39-year-old was named BBC Sports Personality of the Year in 2009.



Nic Doggett