Home  »    »    »  Coral present all nine PDC World Championship nine-darters (plus a bonus perfect leg)

Coral present all nine PDC World Championship nine-darters (plus a bonus perfect leg)

| 02.01.2017

You have to see it to believe it, but witnessing a nine-darter live is one of the most incredible sporting moments you could wish to watch.

A perfect leg doesn’t come around too often either, despite there being 3,944 different ways of doing so, with only 49 having ever been thrown televised by 24 different people prior to the 2017 PDC World Championship, with the first only coming in 1984 by John Lowe.

An apt number of nine in total have been achieved at the PDC Worlds since the tournament began in 1994, with former champions Raymond van Barneveld and Adrian Lewis the only stars to do it twice at Alexandra Palace.

It took 16 years to see the first perfect leg, but Barney was the man to finally break the spell at the 2009 event to then inspire nine to be hit in seven of the next eight World Championships.

So, read on to relive them all with Coral, and we’ve even thrown in a bonus one…

Raymond van Barneveld v Jelle Klaasen (2009)

After 15 barren years without a perfect leg in the World Championship since its inception, darting legend Van Barneveld (40/1 title shout this year) got the ball rolling just over two years after he won the title on debut.

The popular Dutchman achieved the feat against compatriot Jelle Klaasen on the way to thrashing him 5-1 in the quarters. Barney went on to reach the final, but lost out to Phil Taylor, who has surprisingly never thrown a nine-darter at any Worlds event.

Raymond van Barneveld v Brendan Dolan (2010)

Barney has the joint-second highest amount of televised perfect legs in history, with five (six behind Taylor and level with Michael van Gerwen), and his second at the World Championship came only a year after his first.

This time, Brendan Dolan was the victim in the second round, and once again the rampant Dutchman went far in the competition – to the semis, where he went out to Simon Whitlock.

Adrian Lewis v Gary Anderson (2011)

Alongside Van Barneveld, Lewis (33/1 title chance) is the only other player to have thrown a nine-darter twice in this event, and the first and only one to have done so in a final.

Jackpot really showed his class then aged 25 and announced himself on the big stage by claiming his first major after throwing the perfect leg in the opening set, before going on to beat current champion Gary Anderson 7-5.

Dean Winstanley v Vincent van der Voort (2013)

Fans had to wait another two years until the next moment of magic, and this time it came from Yorkshireman Winstanley in round two, though he became the first to lose in the same match.

Rapid thrower Van der Voort held his composure to win 4-2, but Over The Top did still go away with a £15k bonus, as well as his last 32 appearance prize money, for his achievement.

Michael van Gerwen v James Wade (2013)

Now-world number one Van Gerwen (8/13 title favourite) also hit a nine-darter in the 2013 edition, the first tournament where two had been thrown, in his semi-final win over another modern great Wade and incredibly nearly threw another in the very next leg!

Taylor again stood in the way by defeating the Dutchman in the final. But Mighty Mike would make amends the following year, as he claimed his first and still only World Championship crown.

Terry Jenkins v Per Laursen (2014)

Fan favourite Jenkins became the oldest person to hit a nine-darter at this event, when he did so aged 50 in the opening round against Per Laursen.

The Dane shocked the nine-time major tournament runner-up 3-2, however, and The Bull started a run where the next two perfect leg achievers also failed to win their matches.

Kyle Anderson v Ian White (2014)

Remarkably, Australian Anderson was able to replicate Jenkins’ feat later that night, much to the amazement of the lucky crowd. Two or more to be thrown again at the 2017 Worlds is priced at 11/4.

The Original was still knocked out by White 3-1, also in the opening round, but was able to share the £30k-prize spoils with Jenkins.

Adrian Lewis v Raymond van Barneveld (2015)

Double world champ Lewis hit the Jackpot again at the 2015 Worlds, for his second nine-darter, in an enthralling third round battle with that man again Barney.

Deadly Dutchman Van Barneveld went on to triumph 4-3, before he bowed out in the semis against old foe The Power.

Gary Anderson v Jelle Klaasen (2016)

There is no better way of showing your final opponent what they are in for by whitewashing your challenger in the semis 6-0 as well as throwing a nine-darter.

That happened last year when title holder Anderson (6/1 second-favourite) inflicted that feat on Klaasen, the only person to have been on the receiving end of two PDC World Championship perfect legs (the first and last), and the Scot thus went on to edge out Lewis to defend his crown.

Special mention – Paul Lim

While there have only been nine perfect legs at this event, Singapore Slinger Paul Lim was the first ever to throw one at a World Championship, back when the BDO edition was the sport’s most prestigious tournament (in 1990). He picked up a whopping £52k prize for it.

Lim’s nine-darter was only the second ever to be televised, and another was not witnessed until Shaun Greatbatch’s at the Dutch Open in 2002.


Make sure you check out more from our darts archive, ahead of the 2017 PDC World Championship.

Let us know what you think of the above nine-darters and which you liked the best in the comments section below!

And take a look at our exclusive interview with Stephen Bunting.

Bet Now CTA 200x60



Sam Barnard

Sam has been writing for Coral since January 2014, and is the assistant editor of the news site. As well as the main betting sports, football, tennis and cricket, he covers the likes of golf, F1 and darts too, the latter of which has become a particular favourite. Sam enjoys playing as much as writing about sports, but niggling injuries have limited his participation in recent years, so is happy to mainly watch the pros such as Manchester United, Yorkshire CCC, Raymond van Barneveld and even Gibraltar national football team instead.