Mohamed Salah
Home  »    »  Debut Delight: Five of the best Premier League debut seasons ever

Debut Delight: Five of the best Premier League debut seasons ever

| 25.03.2018

Liverpool ace joins some esteemed company

Mohamed Salah took his Premier League tally to 28 goals in just 30 games with a four-goal haul against Watford on Saturday.

The Egyptian ace now has 36 strikes to his name in all competitions. He could possibly break the league record of 34 jointly held by Alan Shearer and Andy Cole. And that was in the old 42-game season.

Whatever happens between now and season’s end, it’s been a simply sensational campaign for Salah, personally.

Although it’s not technically his debut Premier League season, it got the Coral News Team thinking… Who are the top five best debutants in England’s elite league?

Ruud van Nistelrooy

Sir Alex Ferguson was intent on signing the PSV Eindhoven striker before a terrible knee injury put Van Nistelrooy out for a year.

Ferguson was not to be deterred however, and signed the Dutchman a year later. Any worries over his fitness were quickly dispelled as the hitman pillaged 23 goals Premier League goals in his debut season.

Fernando Torres

In July 2007, Liverpool smashed their transfer fee to bring Atletico Madrid striker Fernando Torres to England.

There were major worries that El Nino wouldn’t cut in a more physical Premier League and that the £23m would be wasted.

However the Spanish international took it like a duck to water, finishing with 24 goals in 29 starts.

Jaap Stam

Back when the Netherlands were still a powerhouse in world football, a young Jaap Stam was making waves in the Eredivisie with PSV.

Fergie splashed out £10.8m – a world record for a defender at the time – for the centre-half.

Stam would go on to cement his place at the heart of United’s defence, winning an unprecedented treble in his debut campaign.

Gianfranco Zola

The diminutive Italian Gianfranco Zola signed for Chelsea back in 1996 under Ruud Gullit.

Thought to be too small and slight for the Premier League, few would have imagined the impact he would have.

His genius led the Blues to an FA Cup Final win by season’s end. And he would be awarded the Football Writers’ Player of the Year in his opening campaign.

Sergio Aguero

There were many candidates for the final slot but it would be remiss of the Coral News Team to leave out Aguero.

The little Argentine – signed from Atletico Madrid – managed 30 Premier League goals in his debut season.

The famous “Agueroooooo” moment will forever live in English football folklore as Manchester City won the title in the final moments against Queens Park Rangers.

Notable Mentions:

N’Golo Kante – Signed for just £5.6m from Caen. Won the Premier League with Leicester City in his first season with amazing displays in midfield.

Kevin Phillips – The last Englishman to win the European Golden Shoe with 30 league goals for Sunderland in his debut Premier League season.

Juan Mata – Signed from Valencia in 2011, the mercurial Spaniard shone for Chelsea in his debut season. Won an FA Cup and UEFA Champions League with the Blues in his opening campaign.



Cian Carroll