Cheltenham Gold Cup Trivia

Richard Marsh | 5 February 2019

The Cheltenham Gold Cup is the jewel in the crown of the Cheltenham Festival. It takes place at 3.30 on the Friday of the Festival, and previous Cheltenham Gold Cup winners have gone on to hold legendary status.

Past winners of the 3m 2½f race include five-time winner Golden Miller, triple champion Arkle in the 1960s and three-time victor Best Mate from 2002 to 2004.

Kauto Star is another renowned Cheltenham Gold Cup winner. Paul Nicholls’ raider first won in 2007, before stablemate Denman triumphed in 2008. But a superb run in 2009 saw Kauto Star defeat Denman to become one of the few horses to reclaim the Gold Cup.

Recent winners of the Cheltenham Gold Cup include Bobs Worth in 2013, Lost Windermere in 2014, Coneygree in 2015, Don Cossack in 2016, Sizing John in 2017 and Native River in 2018.

Colin Tizzard’s Native River is among the favourites for 2019, along with Presenting Percy, Kemboy, Thistlecrack and Might Bite.

Most successful horse in Gold Cup

The most successful Cheltenham Gold Cup horse of all-time is Golden Miller, who won the race five times in consecutive years during the 1930s.

Golden Miller first won in 1932 as five-year-old at odds of 13/2. But for each of the next four years, he went off as the favourite and didn’t let backers down.

No other horse has won the race five times. Four horses have won the Cheltenham Gold Cup three times, including Cottage Rake who won in 1948, 1949 and 1950.

Arkle then joined that success with a trio of Gold Cup wins in 1964, 1965 and 1966. Best Mate became a triple champion – and the first of the 21st century – with successive Gold Cup wins in 2002, 2003 and 2004.

Best Mate jumps the last with Jim Culloty up on their way to win the CheltenhamGold Cup, 14 March 2002, at the Cheltenham Festival.

Best Mate jumps the last with Jim Culloty up on their way to win the CheltenhamGold Cup, 14 March 2002, at the Cheltenham Festival.

Youngest horse to win Gold Cup

Of the 90 Cheltenham Gold Cup winners, only three five-year-olds have succeeded in the race. Each of those five-year-olds won in the opening eight years of the Cheltenham Gold Cup.

Red Splash in the very first Gold Cup in 1924, Patron Saint in 1928 and Golden Miller’s first win in 1932 are the only times when a five-year-old has won Cheltenham Festival showpiece.

Since 1999, every winner of the Gold Cup has been aged between seven and nine, except for six-year-old Long Run in 2011.

No horse older than nine has won the race since 10-year-old Cool Dawn in 1998. The oldest horses to win the Gold Cup are then-12-year-olds What a Myth in 1969 and Silver Frame in 1951.

Most successful trainer in Gold Cup  

The most successful trainer of the Cheltenham Gold Cup is Tom Dreaper. The Irishman dominated the Gold Cup, winning the famous race five times.

His first winner came in 1946 with Prince Regent, before Arkle took three wins in a row from 1964 to 1966. Dreaper’s last Gold Cup victory came with Fort Leney in 1968.

Henrietta Knight and Paul Nicholls’ have each won the Gold Cup three times since the turn of the century.

Honours have been evenly shared out recently, however, with eight different trainers landing the coveted Gold Cup in the last nine years. Nicky Henderson is the only multiple Gold Cup winner in the last decade, with the victory for Long Run in 2011 and Bobs Worth in 2013.

Cheltenham Gold cup Winners

Year Horse Jockey
2018 Native River Richard Johnson
2017 Sizing John Robbie Power
2016 Don Cossack Bryan Cooper
2015 Coneygree Nico de Boinville
2014 Lord Windermere Davy Russell
2013 Bobs Worth Barry Geraghty
2012 Synchronised Tony McCoy
2011 Long Run Sam Waley-Cohen
2010 Imperial Commander Paddy Brennan
2009 Kauto Star Ruby Walsh
2008 Denman Sam Thomas


More for Cheltenham tips.