Russia World Cup

Russia World Cup

Welcome to our World Cup guide for 2018, here you’ll find information on upcoming games, top players, winners and more.

This year, Russia will host the World Cup, after winning the vote in 2010 ahead of England and joint bids from Portugal and Spain, plus Belgium and the Netherlands.

It’s the first time Russia has hosted the event, and the eyes of the world will be upon them.

Want to find out more about the latest odds on the World Cup? We’ve got them all here. Plus discover the action as it happens with our World Cup news coverage.

Some 12 stadiums will welcome World Cup football this summer, ranging more than 1750 miles from Kaliningrad in the west to Yekaterinburg in Central Russia.

Nine of the stadiums are brand new and have been built especially for the World Cup, ensuring Russia brings first-class facilities to the tournament.

The largest venue to host this summer’s World Cup is the Luzhniki Stadium, Russia’s national stadium in Moscow.

With an official capacity of 81,000, the Luzhniki Stadium will host four group matches, a round of 16, the semi-final and the showpiece World Cup final on 15th July.

The smallest stadium is the Kaliningrad Stadium. Opened in May, the venue will seat 35,212 fans this summer. That’s more than nine teams from the 2017-18 Premier League season.

As for England’s World Cup fixtures, they’ll play their Group G matches in Volgograd, Nizhny Novgorod and Kaliningrad.

World Cup Games

The World Cup starts on Thursday the 14th June, when hosts Russia play Saudi Arabia in Moscow.

The group games will last for two weeks, with matches taking place every day until Thursday the 28th June.

It’s time for the knockout stages after that. The Round of 16 takes place over four days, from Saturday the 30th June until Tuesday the 3rd July.

Four quarter-finals will be held, with two on Friday 6th July and two on Saturday 7th July.

Remaining sides then have a couple of days to rest and prepare, before the semi-finals. The first contest will take place on Tuesday 10th July in St Petersburg, before the second semi on Wednesday 11th July in Moscow.

Semi-final losers will compete in the third place play-off on Saturday 14th July.

And lastly, the two remaining nations will compete in the World Cup final 2018 in the Luzhniki Stadium at 4pm UK Time on Sunday 15th July.

Below you can see a World Cup wall chart displaying groups, teams, fixtures and scores so you don’t miss a second of the action!

World Cup Wall Chart

World Cup History

World Cup History

This summer’s tournament will be the 21st World Cup, dating back to the very first event in 1930.

Held every four years, (apart from during WW2), only eight nations have won the World Cup.

Brazil have won the tournament five times, more than anyone else. Germany and Italy have won the World Cup four times each.

England have won the World Cup once, at Wembley in 1966. The World Cup in England was the first to include marketing, featuring a mascot and official logo.

The Three Lions have endured mixed fortunes on the global stage. England reached the semi-finals in 1990, and have been quarter-finalists a further five times.

England were knocked out in the round of 16 in 2010 however, and failed to get out of their group in Brazil in 2014.

Germany are the reigning world champions, after they beat Argentina 1-0 in Brazil four years ago.

But the last five World Cups have been won by five different nations. Will we see another different world champion in Russia?

Visit our World Cup odds page

Top Players

Top Players

Former Germany player Miroslav Klose has scored more World Cup goals than anyone else. Klose scored 16 times in World Cup games, one more than Brazilian striker Ronaldo.

Ronaldo boasts a better ratio however. His 15 goals came in just 19 games, whereas Klose played in 24.

Brazilian legend Pele scored 12 World Cup goals, while Gary Lineker is England’s most successful goalscorer at the event with 10 goals.

Of the current players, Germany’s Thomas Muller is the most successful World Cup goalscorer with 10 goals.

Colombia’s James Rodriguez claimed the award for the World Cup Golden Boot in 2014, after scoring six goals in Brazil.

England in the World Cup

England in the World Cup

England are one of only eight nations to win the World Cup. The Three Lions beat Germany 4-2 on home soil at Wembley in 1966.

They entered the World Cup for the first time in 1950, and will be making their 15th World Cup appearance this summer.

They’ve reached the quarter-final stage or better on eight occasions, but haven’t done so since 2006.

England have struggled in their last two World Cup appearances, winning a total of one match from their last seven games in the finals.

They were knocked out in the round of 16 in 2010, and failed to get beyond the group stages in Brazil four years ago.

Under manager Gareth Southgate, a youthful England squad will be hoping to improve in Russia this summer.

England are one of only eight nations to win the World Cup. The Three Lions beat Germany 4-2 on home soil at Wembley in 1966.